2019-2020 Season Concerts

 

CONCERT BAND OPENING CONCERT

Sunday November 10, 2019, 2:30PM, Salem High School; Presented by the Visual and Performing Arts Academy at Salem High School; Featuring the Concert Band & Virginia Wind Symphony

 

CONCERTO COMPETITION

Saturday, November 2, 10:00AM-5:00PM, Norview High School; A solo recital featuring members of the Concert & Symphony Orchestras. Winners of the competition will perform at the Concert Concert in February.

 

CHRISTINA MORTON’S 25TH SEASON RECEPTION

Sunday November 24, 2019, 3:00-6:00PM, Historic Martin Mansion, Norfolk, Ticketed cocktail reception with raffles and performances by BYOV members and alumni. For more information, https://bayyouth.org/support/fundraisers/

 

OPENING CONCERT & CELEBRATION OF CHRISTINA MORTON’S 25TH SEASON

Tuesday November 26, 2019, 7:00PM, Indian River High School; Featuring String, Concert & Symphony Orchestras and the world premier of BYOV commissioned work by Todd Parrish

 

JR. STRINGS SHOWCASE

Saturday January 25, 2020, 6:30PM, Chrysler Hall Lobby; Presented by the Virginia Symphony

 

WIND SYMPHONY OPENING CONCERT

Sunday February 9, 2020, 2:30PM, Salem High School; Presented by the Visual and Performing Arts Academy at Salem High School; Featuring the Wind Symphony and Virginia Wind Symphony

 

CONCERTO CONCERT

Tuesday February 11, 2020, 7:00PM, Old Donation School Theater; Featuring the winners of the 2019 Concert Competition along with the Concert & Symphony Orchestras

 

WINTER CONCERT

Saturday February 22, 2020, 3:00PM, Grassfield High School; Featuring the Jr. Strings, String Orchestra, and Concert Band

 

SIDE BY SIDE WITH THE VIRGINIA SYMPHONY

Wednesday March 18, 2020; 7:30PM, Ferguson Center for the Arts at Christopher Newport University; Featuring the Symphony Orchestra with the Virginia Symphony Orchestra

 

EARTH DAY COLLABORATION CONCERT

Sunday March 29, 2020, 7:00PM, Roper Theater at Tidewater Community College; Featuring the Concert Orchestra and the Virginia Children’s Chorus

 

FINALE CONCERT #1

Tuesday May 12, 2020, 7:00PM, L. Douglas Wilder Performing Arts Center at Norfolk State University, Featuring the Concert Band, Wind Symphony & Symphony Orchestra with senior walk

 

FINALE CONCERT #2

Tuesday May 19, 2020, 7:00PM Roper Theater at Tidewater Community College; Featuring the Jr. Strings, String Orchestra & Concert Orchestra

 

SPRING AUDITIONS FOR THE 2020-2021 SEASON

Monday June 1 & Tuesday June 2 (Norview High School) and Saturday June 6 (Norfolk Academy)